Clean house. Get organized.

Clean house. Get organized.

This has been my mantra. My goal. My ambition. For years.

I am not a lazy person. I’m on the go constantly. And I actually don’t mind cleaning. I love everything that goes with organizing: binders, files, bins, and baskets. Problem is I can’t afford all that crap. Some yes, but not for the quantity of stuff we have.

My mother thinks I am a hoarder. I am not. What I am is a homeschooling farming stay at home mother of 6, living in a 1200 square foot home.

Do I get rid of the books? Printer? Legos? Dishes???? I am constantly taking things off to Goodwill when the youngest child of each gender has outgrown them. I love getting rid of things that have outlived their usefulness to our family. But still, we are simply out of room.

This is the end of another long week of me banging my head against the wall trying to figure out where I’m going wrong.

Lose weight. Dress yourself up a bit.

Lose weight. Dress yourself up a bit.

Okay, not another mantra. But goals and ambitions. I actually talk to myself much differently than this…but I think all women do. We can be downright nasty to ourselves.

I spend like 15 minutes in the bathroom all day. Total. I look like crap. I’m overweight, my hair is frizzy, my eyebrows are like twin forests that have 2 eyeballs poking out of them.

Long story short, no matter how early I get up, no matter what kind of list I make, at the end of the day, I’ve barely showered, rarely shaved, and forget taking a walk.

I am ready. For a total shakedown. For a life upheaval. I’m tired of doing things the hard way everyday. So I want to do some REALLY REALLY hard things for a few weeks, and see if they don’t start to become a little easier.

And what better way for me to become accountable, than to tell the world about it?

I am going to wade through this crap and get it figured out. For me, and for my family. In one year, on October 1, 2014, I want to be 60 pounds lighter. That’s a lot of weight to lose, but I need to do it. 5 pounds per month. I’m going to do it. Along the way, I want to be losing some other things. Clutter. Calamity. I want to lose that thought I have at the end of every day: I am exhausted, I got very little accomplished, and I spent no time with my kids. Yes, I homeschool them, but I don’t consider that “time spent”. I want time to read books, cuddle, play ‘darbies’ and dinosaurs, and talk.

Week one:

At the end of each day, these things must have been done, no matter what.

-milk cows

-twins to/from college classes and driver’s ed

-homeschool

-3 meals prepared

-20 minutes of yoga, 20 minutes of walking, and 20 more minutes of whatever you want exercise-wise

-all stock fed and watered

-2 loads of laundry: washed, dried, folded

-no dirty dishes or washrags left in the sink

This list might seem short, and it certainly isn’t all I will do in a day. But right now, these are the absolutes, that I don’t want to get pushed out of the way to do other things, and not get done.

This post doesn’t quite have to do with homesteading, but it does for me. I have searched high and low for advice and help about these issues, and because I’m a homesteader and a homeschooling mother, I have found little to nothing that applies to my life. There are times where I have just felt like giving up and ‘going back to normal’ because I can’t keep up. Are you with me? What are your goals? What do you feel like you’re missing out on? Here is the link to a little worksheet I prepared.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1JRNzLEhk3MATI7CYJUKLKDA1O4LP8Un-qwd2DZAqCuQ/edit?usp=sharing

