These recipes are all over the internet. And yet I get asked for this all the time, and hear people in awe that I don’t, in fact, need to purchase this everyday item. Ever.

And yes. This is perfectly fine and safe for HE machines.

I use a powdered type. I think my recipe is fairly standard but over the past couple years I’ve modified it slightly just to make the quantity that I need without leftover “ingredients”. So without further ado, here she is:

Powdered Laundry Detergent

2 bars Fels Naptha soap, grated (Actually, you can use any bar soap you want here. I have used all types from the store, as well as my homemade bar soap.)

1 box Borax

2 boxes  Washing Soda

2 cups Baking Soda

(Additionally, I’ve seen alot of people adding a couple tablespoons of either Purex fabric softener crystals or Downy Unstoppables to their mixture for scent.)

Here is a link to Great Oak Circle for some printable tags and how to attach them. (Scroll down…)I love these, they are so cute!

laundry-soap-homemeade

And here is another.

laundry soap2

Enjoy!

